Sunday, July 31, 2016

Tarot Card of the Month - Death

Ruled by Scorpio with its mystical number of 13, the Death card is one of the most feared in the Tarot deck.  Whenever this card is pulled, people literally tremble at the very sight of it.  This is a big card but there really is no need to be frightened.  For me, it's one of my favorites and I'll explain why.

Sitting on a white horse, we see Death represented by a skeleton wearing a suit of armour, indicating that he is invincible and unconquerable.  He holds a black and white flag with the symbol of a white rose representing purity.  On another level, the rose represents the transient nature of life - everything must eventually die.  At the foot of his horse, there is a child, woman and man.  Although the Bishop appears to be pleading for mercy, no one is exempt from death.  The sun in the background represents hope and new beginnings.  Despite our passing from this world to the next, the sun will continue to rise.  For me I also see this as a symbol of reincarnation but this is purely based on my own personal beliefs and can be interpreted in different ways.

The Death card literally means change, endings and transformation.  When this card is pulled, you can expect big changes happening in your life.  This can be anything from a house move, relationship endings, job changes etc.  It's a Major card which means that whatever the change,  it's going to be significant.

We are all creatures of habit and the very nature of change instills fear in all of us, yet it is a necessary part of life that allows us to move forward from one phase into another.  Despite our fear, change always brings new beginnings and opportunities.  As the saying goes, 'as one door closes, another opens'.  We are all spiritual beings having a physical experience (not the other way around) and we need to grow and learn while we are here on this earthly plane.  Therefore, the Death card should be welcomed and embraced, regardless of any temporary inconvenience it may bring.

Keywords:  Endings, beginnings, change, transformation, transition

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Dealing with Anger

Anger is a basic human emotion that many of us experience at some point. When expressed in a healthy way, anger can help alleviate repressed emotions and assist with self expression.  However, problems occur when anger gets out of hand and turns destructive.  It can affect relationships with others and more importantly, it can have a negative effect on your physical and emotional well being. 

What is Anger?

Anger is a natural response to real or perceived external threats, ie our fight/flight response.  Our heart rate increases and physically we are prepared to fight or flee.  When our sense of security is threatened, anger can arise as form of self protection.

Essentially, anger is a primitive response and is seated in our base chakra (the Muladhara) which is the root chakra responsible for our sense of safety and security on this earthly journey.

Symptoms of an over-active root chakra include anger, annoyance and aggression towards people and events in your life.  Greediness and controlling others may also be a problem.  Because of this, you may become dependent on security from other people or become very materialistic. 

Healing and Re-balancing the Muladhara

There are many ways to balance and heal the base chakra:

1. Relaxation Techniques 

A good place to start is to engage in some deep breathing exercises or meditation.  This will give you some insight into why you are angry.  Anger can be a subconscious response and is often misdirected or projected outwards onto others.  When you are able to look at a situation clearly and objectively, the real reasons behind the anger can be identified and acknowledged.

2. Expressing Anger Constructively

It's important to express angry feelings in a positive way.  If you feel you need to talk to someone or get counselling about your anger, then do so.  Art therapy or keeping a journal is another way to ‘get it all out’.  Examining our true feelings in an open and honest way enables us to process them constructively.

3. Affirmations

Affirmations are a positive way to reprogram negative ways of thinking.  Here are a few examples:

"I am safe in the world, I belong to this world.  I am at peace with my surroundings”
“I am safe and secure wherever I am”
“The earth supports me and meets my needs”
“I am grounded, stable and standing on my own two feet”

4. Reconnecting with Nature

The base chakra’s element is earth.  Reconnecting with mother nature by sitting on the grass or under a tree or will have a positive effect on this chakra.

5. Spiritual Healing

Receiving Reiki or some other form of spiritual healing is a great way of releasing emotional blocks and for clearing out any emotional debris.

6.  Aromatherapy

Healing occurs on many levels: physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual. Essential oils can assist in healing, balancing and grounding.  Some oils include Sandalwood, Myrrh, Frankincense and Ylang Ylang.

It’s important to balance and ground the base chakra as it governs fear, our sense of security and well being.  If one of our energy centres is not functioning as it should, then the entire body will be out of balance.  Making sure our energy centres are balanced and working properly will lead to a more peaceful state of consciousness and ultimately a more positive and authentic way of life.